Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1926-PRESENT

refer to caption
5b Crossed daggers and Arabic inscriptions single

An ancient state in southwest Arabia. Under Turkish suzerainty until 1918, Yemen became independent after Turkey's defeat in World War I. During 1958-61, Yemen was loosely affiliated with Egypt in the United Arab States. In 1962, a military coup ousted the imam, and a pro-Egyptian republic was established. Royalist resistance continued in the interior until 1969, during which time both sides issued a vast number of stamps, most aimed strictly at stamp collectors. In April 1970, an agreement between the Yemen Arab Republic and Saudi Arabia introduced royalists into the YAR government, ending the existence of the Mutawakelite Kingdom. At about the same time, the country's stamp-issuing policy settled back to normal. In 1990 the Yemen Arab Republic and the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen united to form the Republic of Yemen. Northern dominance of the new state led to resentment in the south, sparking a civil war in 1994. The north quickly defeated southern secessionist elements and restored the union, with guarantees of democratic government. Long one of the poorest states in the Mideast, Yemen is currently pursuing a program of economic reform and development.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Countries:

Stamps issued: 1968-1990

refer to caption
15-fils Camel and Calf single

A former republic in southwest Arabia, formed from the former British holdings in the region. Established in 1967, when the Federation of South Arabia became independent from Great Britain. Originally named the People's Republic of Southern Yemen, it was renamed the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen in 1970. South Yemen maintained close ties with the Soviet Union and supported Marxist guerrillas in northern Yemen and in Oman. In 1978, South Yemeni troops aided Ethiopian and Cuban forces against the rebels in Eritrea. In July 1978, Egypt, the Yemen Arab Republic and Saudi Arabia suspended relations with South Yemen, following a coup that brought the most radical elements of the region to power. In 1990 the two states of Yemen united to form the Republic of Yemen.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Stamps issued: 1963-1966

refer to caption
1d Flag single

A former federation of British territories in southwestern Arabia. South Arabia became independent in 1967 as the People's Republic of Southern Yemen.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


Stamps issued: 1937-1965

Prior to 1937 see India

refer to caption
8a Dhow single

Former British colony and protectorate in southwest Arabia. The colony of Aden was attached to India 1839-1937, and Indian stamps were used. Stamps of the colony were first issued in 1937, being used in most of the Aden protectorate area, as well as within the Aden colony itself. In 1963, the two districts, except for the eastern Kathiri and Qu'aiti states, united to form the Federation of South Arabia. Aden stamps were replaced by those of the Federation on April 1, 1965.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately

Related Content