Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1980-PRESENT

refer to caption
15v Flag and Territory Map single

A Y-shaped chain of volcanic southwestern Pacific islands about 250 miles northeast of New Caledonia, southeast of the Solomon Islands. These islands were administered as the joint Anglo-French condominium of the New Hebrides from 1906 until 1980, when independence was granted to the new republic of Vanuatu.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Countries:

Stamps issued: 1908-1980

refer to caption
15c Land Diver single

A group of islands in the South Pacific Ocean, north of New Caledonia. New Hebrides was declared neutral by Great Britain and France in 1878 and was administered jointly by the two nations from 1906 to 1980. On July 30, 1980, the islands became independent as the Republic of Vanuatu.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately