Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions

Danish West Indies

Stamps issued: 1856-1915
After 1915 see United States of America

refer to caption
2fr St. Thomas Harbor single

A small group of islands east of Puerto Rico. Having passed through the hands of Spain, France, The Netherlands, Great Britain, the Knights of Malta and Brandenburg (Prussia), the islands finally came under Danish rule in 1733 and 1754 (St. Thomas). In 1916, the colony was sold to the United States, which took possession on April 1, 1917. They were renamed the U.S. Virgin Islands, and U.S. stamps replaced those of the colony.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News


International Philately