Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1966-PRESENT

refer to caption
1 maloti Maloti Mountains single

A kingdom in southern Africa, surrounded by the Republic of South Africa. Until it became independent as Lesotho in 1966, this territory was the British crown colony of Basutoland. Lesotho is completely surrounded by South Africa, and the majority of its work force is employed in that country.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

refer to caption
2.5-cent World Health Organization single
refer to caption
25-cent Baboons single

Precedent Country:

Stamps issued: 1933-1966

For period 1910-1933 see South Africa
Prior to 1910 see Cape of Good Hope

refer to caption
10sh Crocodile single

A former British crown colony surrounded by South Africa. Under British control after 1871, Basutoland became the independent state of Lesotho on Oct. 4, 1966. Stamps of the Cape of Good Hope were used 1871-1910 and those of the Union of South Africa 1910-33, when the colony began to use its own issues.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately