Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1966-PRESENT

refer to caption
10-cent South Point Lighthouse single

Britain controlled Barbados, the windward-most island in the Caribbean, from 1627 until its independence in 1966. The first postage stamps of Barbados appeared in 1852 and were the Perkins Bacon "Seated Britannia" design also used in Mauritius (1849) and Trinidad (1851). These stamps had no denomination, the postage value being determined by color alone. This practice continued for internal mails until 1875, the only denominated Britannia being the higher values for overseas transmission.

Nicholas G. Carter

refer to caption
25-cent George Washington and Map of Bridge Town watermarked single

Precedent Country:

Stamps issued: 1852-1966

refer to caption
3sh Seal of the Colony single

In 1892 Barbados adopted the badge of the colony for its definitive stamps—the sovereign on a chariot being drawn by sea horses. Barbados continued this until 1950. With each change of sovereign, the ruler's face was changed.

Nicholas G. Carter

International Philately