Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions


Stamps issued: 1992-PRESENT
Prior to 1992 see Russia, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

refer to caption
35r Post Office single

Republic in central Asia, bordering on Afghanistan, China, Kirghizia and Uzbekistan. The Tajiks were long ruled by the Persians or the Afghans and came under Russian control in the late 19th century. In 1990 Tajikistan declared its sovereignty and in 1991 joined in the Commonwealth of Independent States. A parliamentary republic was declared in 1992. Since 1992 the country has been torn by civil war between the government, dominated by ex-communists and an anti-government coalition consisting of pro-Western intellectuals and Muslims.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately