Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions

Solomon Islands

Stamps issued: 1975-PRESENT

refer to caption
$2 Duchess Lorikeet single

A group of islands in the western South Pacific. The islands were a British protectorate designated as the British Solomon Islands until 1975, when, as the group approached independence, the "British" was dropped. The Solomons became self-governing in 1976 and fully independent in 1978.

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

Precedent Country:

Stamps issued: 1907-1975

refer to caption
5sh Malaita Canoe single

International Philately