Featuring Research Volunteer Contributions

British Indian Ocean Territory

Stamps issued: 1968-PRESENT

refer to caption
10r Lionfish single

A group of British-owned coral atolls in the Indian Ocean. Formerly dependencies of Mauritius and the Seychelles, the atolls and three islands were organized as a crown colony on Nov. 8, 1965. On June 29, 1976, Aldabra, Farquhar and DeRoches islands were returned to Seychelles. The terrritory today comprises the Chagos Archipelago (Diego Garcia is the largest of five atolls).

Narrative by Linn's Stamp News

International Philately